## Southern Illinois University Edwardsville SPARK

SIUE "Bulletin"

University Archives and Special Collections

3-22-1976

## Edwardsville Bulletin: March 22, 1976

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Follow this and additional works at: https://spark.siue.edu/bulletin

## **Recommended Citation**

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, "Edwardsville Bulletin: March 22, 1976" (1976). *SIUE "Bulletin"*. 115.

https://spark.siue.edu/bulletin/115

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Archives and Special Collections at SPARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in SIUE "Bulletin" by an authorized administrator of SPARK. For more information, please contact jkohlbu@siue.edu.

## Edwardsville Bulletin

To the Faculty and Staff of Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville

Jurnee Lik

Vol. 8, No. 20 March 22, 1976

MEMO TO: The University Community

FROM: Andrew J. Kochman

Cendrew Spehman

Lionel K. Walford, chairman of the department of physics, has been named to serve as Acting Dean of the School of Science and Technology while Dean Earl E. Lazerson is serving as Acting Vice-President and Provost of the University.

The appointments are subject to ratification by the University Board of Trustees and will be submitted for consideration at the April meeting of the Board.

Chairman of the department of physics since July, 1974, Walford has been a member of the faculty since 1963. He was promoted to the rank of professor in July, 1972 and currently is serving as president of the University Senate.

Walford is a native of Wales and was associated with the Cavendish Laboratory at Cambridge, England before joining the SIUE faculty. He is a graduate of the University of Wales, where he received the bachelor of science degree in physics and mathematics. He completed work for the doctorate in physics at the University of Cambridge.

Walford and his wife, Linda, are residents of St. Louis.

Office space for the President's Search Committee has been provided in Room 2221 of the John S. Rendleman Building. The office telephone number is 692-2898. Mrs. Kay Bramley will serve as secretary to the chairman of the committee, W. Deane Wiley.